Ctrl (pronounced “control”) is the debut studio album by the TDE first lady SZA, originally titled “A”. The name “Ctrl” was first teased on her Instagram in late 2016 before being officially confirmed during her performance on Jimmy Kimmel.

It was released on June 9, 2017, by Top Dawg Entertainment and RCA Records. Following the release of debut extended play Z (2014), SZA began writing for other artists and working on her debut, however her debut project was met with various setbacks. SZA followed an analog process and contributed heavily to the album’s lyrics. Recording continued until 2017 by which SZA had created two hundred songs. During the recording process SZA opted for a freestyle method, relying on moments in the studio. The majority of CTRL was recorded in Engine Room Audio in lower Manhattan.

The album was released to acclaim from music critics. It debuted at number three on the US Billboard 200, moving 60,000 equivalent-album units in its first full-tracking week. It generated the singles “Drew Barrymore,” “Love Galore,” and “The Weekend.” As of October 2017, the album has been certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America for accumulating over 500,000 in album-equivalent units and pure sales.

Song Credits

Primary Artists: RZA , SZA
Featuring: Isaiah Rashad , James Fauntleroy , Kendrick Lamar , Travis Scott
Producers: The Antydote , Bēkon , Cam O’bi , Carter Lang , Craig Balmoris , The Donuts , Frank Dukes , Hector Castro , LoveDragon , Pharrell Williams , The Prophit , ThankGod4Cody
Writers: The Antydote , Bēkon , Busta Rhymes , Caloway , Cam O’bi , Carrington Harris , Carter Lang , Craig Balmoris , Daniel Caesar , Danja , DJ Kool , Donna Summer , Frank Dukes , Giorgio Moroder , Greg Landfair , Isaiah Rashad , James Fauntleroy , J Dilla , Josef Leimberg , Justin Timberlake , Kendrick Lamar , Lukasz Plas , Macie Stewart , Pete Bellotte , Peter CottonTale , Pharrell Williams , Punch , Rappy , Redman , River Tiber , Rockwilder , RZA , SZA , Terrace Martin , ThankGod4Cody , Timbaland , Travis Scott
Additional Drums: Stix
Additional Recording Engineer: Jay “Kurzweil” Oyebadejo
Additional Vocals: Pharrell Williams
Assistant Engineer: Brandon Wood , Tristan Bott
Background Vocals: Isaiah Rashad , SZA , ThankGod4Cody
Bass: Peter CottonTale
Engineer: The Antydote , Bēkon , Blake Harden , Chris Classick , JT (Engineer) , Juan Carlos , The Prophit , Ray Charles Brown
Label: RCA Records , Top Dawg Entertainment
Miscellaneous Production: Carter Lang , Craig Balmoris , The Donuts , Frank Dukes
Mixing Engineer: Hector Castro , Mixed by Ali
Performance Rights: ASCAP , BMI , GEMA (PRO) , PRS , SESAC , SOCAN
Publisher: Almo Music Corp. , Anthem Entertainment , The Antydote , Atlas Music Publishing , Buddemusic , CalowayFromBD , Colgems-EMI Music , Concord Music Group , Craig B of BKS , Danikeyz Productions , Danjahandz Muzik , Dayna’s Day Music , Discoton Music , EMI April Music , EMI Blackwood Music , EMI Music Publishing Group , EPHCY Music , Fauntleroy Music , Funky Noble Productions , Josef Leimberg Music , Kobalt Music , MYNY Music , New World Music , Nyan King Music , One77 , PolyGram , PW Arrangements , Reservoir 416 , Reservoir Media , Rick’s Music , ROBA Music Publishing , Rondor Music , Sam Fam Publishing , SergFromBD , Shay Noelle Publishing , Sony/ATV Ballad , Sony Music Entertainment , Starbus Publishing , Sweet Summer Night Music , Tennman Tunes , ThankGod4Cody Publishing , Travis Scott Music , T’Ziah Music , Underdog Songs , Universal Music Group , Universal Music Z Songs , VB Rising , Warner/Chappell , Warner Music Group , Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. , Zuma Tuna
Recording Engineer: Blake Harden , Josef Leimberg , Matt Schaeffer , The Prophit
Strings: Macie Stewart
Video Appearance By: Drew Barrymore
Video Colorist: Dave Hussey
Video Director: Karena Evans , The Little Homies , Nabil
Video Director Of Photography: Bérénice Eveno
Video Editor: Kat Webber
Video Executive Producer: Dave Free , Director X , Punch , ​rhêtorík , Taj Critchlow , Top Dawg
Video Head Of Production: Adam Palmer
Video Line Producer: Shawn Spilliett , Sky Pierce
Video Producer: Fuliane Petikyan , Top Dawg Entertainment
Video Production Coordinator: Dean Rosen