Kate Bush

Hounds of Love


Hounds of Love is the fifth studio album by singer, songwriter and producer Kate Bush. Widely considered her magnum opus, it lit another rocket under Bush’s career (following the “she’s gone mad” response of her previous record) and went onto finally break the US market alongside becoming her best-selling album.

Split across 2 discs, the album incorporates 2 very different sections. Side 1, titled “Hounds of Love”, features all 4 singles and threads its 5 songs together through a loose theme of love. Side 2, however, is an entirely different scenario. Containing Bush’s first and most praised conceptual piece, “The Ninth Wave” details a dark tale of a woman lost at sea, entering a dream sequence as she awaits rescue.

The first to be recorded in Bush’s own home studio, the album is a drastic departure from The Dreaming. Featuring more honed production and techniques, it allowed Bush to leave the bustle of London and retreat back into the countryside, away from the grips of her label EMI. Instead of crowded cityscapes, songs were written gazing across scenery and allowed the harsh “mankind’s screwing things up” energy to depart in favour of a more positive one.

As part of EMI’s “First Centenary” reissue series, the album received a remastered release in 1997. Including 6 bonus tracks, the album became the first of Bush’s releases to be remastered before the starting of her label Fish People in 2011. In 2010, another remaster was released by Audio Fidelity on marbled vinyl.

For the London 2012 Olympics Closing Ceremony, Bush was asked to perform “Running Up That Hill” live. However, she declined and instead remixed the song for the ceremony. However, she went on to perform this version – along with “Hounds of Love”, “Cloudbusting” and the entire “The Ninth Wave” suite – in 2014 as part of the Before the Dawn live residency and later released on the late 2016 live album of the same name.

Song Credits

Producers: Kate Bush
Writers: Kate Bush
Artwork: Bill Smith Studio , Ken Hell , Vivienne Morgan Chandler
Assistant Engineer: Pearse Dunne
Background Vocals: Brian Bath , Del Palmer , John Carder Bush , Kate Bush , Paddy Bush
Balalaika: Paddy Bush
Bass: Del Palmer , Eberhard Weber , Martin Glover
Bodhrán Drum: Dónal Lunny
Bouzouki: Dónal Lunny
Cello: Jonathan Williams
Choir: The Richard Hickox Singers
Choir Arranger: Kate Bush , Michael Berkeley
Choir Conductor: Richard Hickox
Didgeridoo: Paddy Bush
Double Bass: Danny Thompson
Drums: Charlie Morgan , Stuart Elliott
Engineer: Bill Somerville-Large , Brian Tench , Del Palmer , Haydn Bendall , James Guthrie , Nigel Walker , Paul Hardiman
Fiddle: John Sheahan
Fretless Bass: Eberhard Weber
Fujara: Paddy Bush
Guitar: Alan Murphy , Brian Bath , John Williams
Handclaps: Charlie Morgan , Del Palmer
Irish Musicians Arranger: Bill Whelan
Keyboards: Kate Bush
Label: EMI (Label)
Licensing: BMI , CMRRA , LatinAutor , LatinAutorPerf , LatinAutor - SonyATV , LatinAutor - UMPG , Noble and Brite Ltd. , SOLAR Music Rights Management , Sony Music Entertainment , UBEM , Universal Music Group , Warner Music Group
Lyricist: John Carder Bush , Kate Bush
Mastering Engineer: Ian Cooper
Mixing Engineer: Brian Tench , Julian Mendelsohn
Percussion: Morris Pert
Performance Rights: BMI
Phonographic Copyright ℗: Noble and Brite Ltd.
Photography: John Carder Bush
Piano: Kate Bush
Programmer: Del Palmer
Publisher: EMI Music Publishing Group , Noble and Brite Ltd.
Remastering Engineer: Chris Blair , James Guthrie , Kate Bush
Sequencer: Kevin McAlea
Spoken Word: Hannah Bush , John Carder Bush
String Arranger: Dave Lawson , Kate Bush
Strings: The Medicci Sextet
Synthesizer: Del Palmer , Kevin McAlea
Uilleann Pipes: Liam O’Flynn
Video Director: David Garfath
Violin: Paddy Bush
Violins: Paddy Bush
Vocals: Kate Bush
Whistles: John Sheahan