Solar Power


Solar Power is the upcoming third studio album by Lorde, set to be released on August 20, 2021.

The album is her first release after a four-year hiatus from music, following 2017’s Melodrama. She first started dropping hints about a new project in 2020, starting with an interview with Blackbird Skyplane, where she said:

I’m telling people that something is taking shape. More than ‘taking shape’ — something is — there’s a thing. But, you know, I really take my time, and I like to know the whole universe, the whole cinematic universe for what I’m making, so I’m in that process right now. I don’t know how much more I want to say. It’s such a kooky year in terms of knowing anything about timing, but I guess with me, as an artist generally, no one ever knows when anything’s coming anyway…”

Her trip to Antarctica seems to have influenced the record, and it is ushering in a new era for Lorde with producer Jack Antonoff at the wheel, who worked with her on her previous record.

On June 10th, 2021, the year’s only solar eclipse, Lorde released the album’s lead single “Solar Power” and sent an email to fans, revealing it is also the album’s title. The song was also accompanied by a music video.

On June 21, 2021, the summer solstice, the album became available to pre-order on Lorde’s website, revealing the tracklist and final release date. She also sent another email to fans writing:

Greetings my babies, and happy solstice.

For those who don’t know, the summer solstice is the day when the Sun charts her longest course through the sky. It’s the longest and most light day of the year. Cultures have celebrated the solstice for thousands of years— with singing, dancing, ceremonies, fires, and feasts. It’s a day to toast fertility and hope for plentiful harvests. It’s one worth celebrating. And what better way to celebrate than with an EXTENSIVE DETAILS BULLETIN? (I’m joking, please go outside after reading this). I have so much to tell you. This is the first official bulletin from the Solar Institute, by the way. These may come every week or two weeks, depending on how I feel… Anyway. I have some major shit to announce so I gotta keep this moving. The album comes out August 20. It contains 12 songs and 2 bonus tracks.

Song Credits

Producers: Jack Antonoff , Lorde
Writers: Jack Antonoff , Lorde
Acoustic Guitar: Jack Antonoff
Assistant Mixing Engineer: Jack Antonoff
Background Vocals: Clairo , Phoebe Bridgers
Bass: Jack Antonoff
Copyright ©: Universal Music New Zealand Limited
Drums: Jack Antonoff , Matt Chamberlain
Electric 6-String Guitar: Jack Antonoff
Mastering Engineer: Chris Gehringer , Will Quinnell
Mixing Engineer: Mark “Spike” Stent
Percussion: Jack Antonoff , Matt Chamberlain
Phonographic Copyright ℗: Universal Music New Zealand Limited
Programmer: Matt Chamberlain
Saxophone: Evan Smith
Trumpet: Cole Kamen-Green
Video Colorist: David Gibson (Video)
Video Director: Joel Kefali , Lorde
Video Director Of Photography: Andrew Benjamin Stroud
Video Editor: Stewart Reeves
Video Post-Producer: Blockhead VFX
Video Producer: Andrew McLean
Video Production Company: Good Oil
Video Production Designer: Guy Treadgold