The Static Channel*


This tracklist is unconfirmed. It is compiled of recent singles, snippets, and song titles sourced from streaming services, PRO’s, and social media. It is purely speculative and has not been confirmed by the artist. We will update this tracklist as more information comes to light.

The Static Channel is the eighth studio album by Gorillaz, following the release of their 2021 EP Meanwhile; the 20th Anniversary Edition of Gorillaz, released in 2021; and their 2020 album Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez.

The album was first brought up as a second season to their multi-media project Song Machine on October 18, 2020, less than a week before the first season’s release as Strange Timez.

In an interview conducted by Gorillaz Unofficial, Jamie would reveal that the project following Song Machine would take on a narrative-heavy structure, describing it as a “more in-depth kinda epic story with the characters and music. Not just an album, but bigger.”

The album was later brought up by Damon Albarn in a September 2021 interview with Latin-American publication Remezcla, stating that he and Reggaeton musician Bad Bunny had made a new song specifically for a project influenced by Latin America to be released as the first single for the album in 2022.

In April 2022 with the start of their “World Tour 2022” tour in Montevideo, two new songs (Silent Running and Cracker Island) would be debuted live with visuals that showcased a new art style and a short promotional video for a new album/phase dubbed The Static Channel. “Cracker Island” featuring Thundercat would later be released as the album’s lead single on June 22, 2022.