Betraying the Martyrs


Facebook: WeAreBetrayingTheMartyrs
Instagram: betrayingthemartyrs
Twitter: MartyrsTweets

Betraying the Martyrs were founded in 2008 and currently consists of Aaron Matts (lead vocals), Baptiste Vigier (rhythm guitar), Lucas d'Angelo (lead guitar), Victor Guillet (clean vocals/keyboards), Valentin Hauser (bass guitar) and Boris Le Gal (drums). Former members of the band included Eddie Czaicki (vocals), Antoine Salin (Drums), Fabien Clévy (lead guitar), and Mark Mironov (drums).

Before joining the band, Czaicki played in the French metalcore outfit, Darkness Dynamite. Guillet was the lead vocalist and keyboardist in the post-hardcore band, The Beverly Secret. Vigier and d'Angelo were in the metalcore band, Black Curtains. On 18 November 2009, Betraying the Martyrs released their debut EP The Hurt, The Divine, The Light, a self-produced recording funded entirely by the band and mixed by Stephane Buriez. The EP sold more than 2,000 copies in France alone.[1] Their first European tour, “The Survivors Tour” (2010), involved the band playing in support of Whitechapel, Dark Funeral, Darkness Dynamite, A Skylit Drive, Adept, Despised Icon, Dance Gavin Dance, While She Sleeps and Shadows Chasing Ghosts. The band met current vocalist, British native Aaron Matts, during that tour, as he replaced Czaicki shortly thereafter. Czaicki opted to leave the band to pursue an art career.