President T

President T


President T is a true veteran of the UK underground scene, starting as a DnB/Jungle MC in the late 1990s before joining Manchester’s Darkside Crew around the turn of the century. Born in Birmingham and raised in Tottenham, he has ties across the UK’s three major cities and was a member of Meridian Crew, one of grime’s most legendary and influential crews, in the mid 2000s. While Skepta and Jme departed to form Boy Better Know, President T formed Bloodline alongside his brothers Big H and Paper Pabs, his cousin Bossman Birdie, Milli Major, and Meridian Dan. The theme of family runs strong through the group and President T still closely works with these MCs, alongside Bloodline producer Doeboy.

His long-awaited 15 track debut mixtape, Back Inna My Face was released in February 2008 as a free download. The next few years were relatively quiet in terms of music for President T as he spent time focusing on other parts of his life. Arguably his most notable moment in the scene during these years was his beef with Trim during 2011.

Since 2014, President T has been far more active in the UK grime scene. After appearing on hits such as Skepta’s “That’s Not Me (Remix)” and Sir Spyro’sSide By Side”, he released the mixtape Greatest To Ever Touch Down in December 2015.

A strong 2016 included the singles “House and Pop and ”Thug Life, which preceded the December release of his T On The Wing album. The album’s title track has racked up over 900k views on YouTube, which is his most viewed video.

Back Inna My Face was remastered and re-released in early 2017, and although the pattern of December releases didn’t continue for a third year, the album Stranger Returns was announced on Christmas Day. Having been anticipated for the best part of 10 years, leading to comparisons with Dr Dre’s mythical Detox album, it was released in March 2018 with features from Wiley and D Double E.

A second album of 2018 dropped in October, There’s Only One, a drill and trap influenced ten track release. Passing The Bill was released in November 2019, making it five albums released in less than four years – underlining President T’s phenomenal work rate in the second half of the decade. A further album, “The Lost Tapes”, is expected in the early months of 2020.