Def Squad


Def Squad is a hip-hop group featuring Erick Sermon, Redman, and Keith Murray. The Squad was formed following the breakup of Sermon’s highly influential group EPMD, forcing the rappers in their extended family The Hit Squad to pick a side. Sermon continued to collaborate with Redman and Hurricane G, plus newcomer Keith Murray and teen rapper Jamal.

The Def Squad collective continued to collaborate on and off between 1993 and 1997, with Sermon, Redman, and Keith Murray all becoming gold-selling solo artists with multiple top 10 rap hits.

In 1997, this core Def Squad trio recorded a popular cover of rap’s first hit, “Rapper’s Delight,” for In The Beginning…There Was Rap, a compilation of modern rappers covering hip-hop oldies on Priority Records.

The song’s success led to their proper debut album on Def Jam, 1998’s El Niño. The album debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200, going gold and spawning the minor hit “Full Cooperation.”

Def Squad continues to collaborate periodically on each others' solo projects today.