Faith No More

Faith No More


Faith No More are an alternative metal act, widely revered as one of the most unique-sounding bands in music history.

The group was born in 1979 in San Francisco, under the name Sharp Young Men. In 1981, they changed their name to Faith No Man. After two-fifths of the band (including lead singer Mike “The Man” Morris) left, the remaining members (bassist Billy Gould, drummer Mike Bordin and keyboardist Roddy Bottum) kept going with another new name: Faith No More. After going through a long roster of replacements (including Courtney Love), they were joined by the other stable guys: guitarist Jim Martin and lead singer Chuck Mosley. Despite a minor hit with “We Care a Lot”, Mosley was fired in 1988 due to his alcoholism and limited vocal range.

Mosley was replaced by Mike Patton, frontman of fellow alternative metal band Mr. Bungle, and the stage was set for FNM. Patton’s distinctive voice, bizarre lyrics and influence in the alternative culture shift of the ‘90s led to a series of classic albums including The Real Thing and Angel Dust.

By 1998, the strain of maintaining Faith No More in addition to the members' many side projects put an undue strain on the band and they made the decision to break up. However, they reunited in 2009 and have been active since then, releasing their seventh (and most recent) studio album Sol Invictus in 2015.