Rush was a progressive rock band that formed in 1968 and retired in 2016. A well known power trio, the band consisted of bassist, keyboardist, and lead vocalist Geddy Lee; guitarist Alex Lifeson; and drummer, percussionist, and primary lyricist Neil Peart. The band has maintained this lineup for over 40 years all the way to their retirement.
Although heavily regarded as a fundamental band in the popularization of progressive rock, the group’s overall sound has encompassed a wide variety of musical genres throughout the years; most notably blues rock, hard rock, and a period that included heavy use of synthesizers.
The lyrical content is another huge key to the group’s success, with much of the band’s lyrics written by drummer Neil Peart. The band’s lyrics are famous for a wide range of subjects; most notably: fantasy, sci-fi, history, literature, and philosophy. Of note, Rush has generally avoided “love” songs as their lyrics have been primarily cerebral and philosophic in nature, although a few love songs do exist.
As of 2015, the group has garnered 24 gold, 14 platinum, and 3 multi-platinum albums, as well as having a worldwide album sales of over 40 million units.
Over the course of their career, Rush has arguably become the epitome of virtuosity in their respected instruments, according to many respected musicians and well known magazines.

Geddy Lee – bass, lead vocals, keyboards

Alex Lifeson – guitar

Neil Peart – drums, lyrics