Funky Boss

Funky Boss

Beastie Boys

“Funky Boss” is Track 2 on Beastie Boys' third (full-length) LP Check Your Head. Writing credit is shared by Beastie Boys & Money Mark Nishita.

Performed by:

  • Adam Yauch (bass)
  • Michael Diamond (drums)
  • Adam Horovitz (guitar)
  • Mark Nishita (D6, Clav, Organ, Wurlitzer)
  • James Bradley, Jr. (percussion)

It was recorded and mixed at G-Son Studios, Atwater Village, CA, Jr. Co-produced by Beastie Boys & Mario C with Mario C acting as engineer. After sequencing at PCP Labs, the album was released on 4.21.1992.

Samples include:

  • Funky Worm“ by Ohio Players, from the album, Pleasure (1972)
  • Under Mi Sensi“ by Barrington Levy, from the single, "Under Mi Sensi” (1985)
  • Bicentennial Nigger“ by Richard Pryor, from the album, Bicentennial Nigger (1976)

Funky Boss” was performed in 6 known concerts.