21 Savage

21 Savage


Shéyaa Bin Abraham-Joseph, known professionally as 21 Savage, was born in the London Borough of Newham on October 22, 1992 to parents of Dominican and Haitian descent. He and his mother moved to the United States when Savage was seven years old, residing in East Atlanta, Georgia. In June 2005, he briefly returned to the U.K. for his uncle’s funeral before quickly returning to the U.S. less than a month later on an H-4 visa.

Savage first gained musical notoriety after releasing the underground hit “Picky” in November 2014. The following year, he released three projects: The Slaughter Tape, Free Guwop, and Slaughter King.

After a massive 2015, Savage was included in the 2016 XXL Freshman Class. The cover was revealed on June 13, 2016. A month later, on July 15, 2016, Savage released Savage Mode, a collaborative EP with Metro Boomin.

On July 7, 2017, Savage released his debut studio album, Issa Album. Less than four months later, on October 31, 2017, he released Without Warning, a collaborative album with Offset and Metro.

On December 21, 2018, Savage released his sophomore studio album, i am > i was.

On February 3, 2019, Savage was arrested by U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) for overstaying his visa, which initially expired in 2006. Before that, in 2017, Savage applied for a US visa so that he could remain in the United States. He was released on bond nine days later.

On October 2, 2020, 21 Savage and Metro Boomin reunited for their second collaborative album, SAVAGE MODE II.

On November 4th, 2022, Savage and Drake released their first collaborative album, Her Loss.